

The Rotaripost

Rotary Club of Shreveport Chartered 1914

Keynote Happy Birthday, Virginia Shehee! You are Missed!



Virginia Shehee

Tribute will be given to **Virginia Shehee** next Tuesday, on the anniversary of what would have been her 93rd birthday. Virginia was born in Houston on July 12, 1923 and passed away on July 6, 2015.

After her family moved to Shreveport during the Great Depression, Virginia graduated from C.E. Byrd High School. She then obtained her B.A. in English from Centenary College. This began a deep-rooted affiliation with Centenary where she became a Trustee and the Kilpatrick Auditorium and Shehee Stadium were created in her family's honor.

When Rotary began accepting women into membership, Virginia was one of two women who were the first to be admitted to membership in the Rotary Club of Shreveport on September 22, 1987. She received her first Paul Harris Fellowship Award less than a year later, in April 1988. By the following year, she became a Major Donor to The Rotary Foundation. During the Rotary year 2004-2005 she was awarded the Service Above Self

Award by Rotary International.

Two of Virginia's children are long-time Rotarians in our club: Andy Shehee and Nell Shehee Kramer.

2017 Atlanta Convention

There are now only 4 Rotary recommended hotels (down from a start of about 15 hotels) still accepting reservations: Four Seasons, Loews Atlanta, Renaissance Atlanta Midtown and Atlanta Midtown. Most of the group who will be riding the bus are registering at Loews Atlanta. Please book your hotel through the <u>Rotary website</u>. Rotary will provide free shuttles from



each recommended hotel to the Georgia World Congress Center.

July 12, 2016

Tuesday, 12:13 p.m.

Shreveport Convention Center

Rotarians Serving Others	
Hardy Foreman	Money Table
John Tuggle	Raffle
Christine Wasner	Scanner- Greeter-4Way Test
Dick Bremer	Invocation
Reggie Abrams And Kermit Poling	Music

Al Kessler "Thank You, Thank You, Thank You" Rotarian of the Year Award for 2015-2016

Immediate Past President Reg Abrams surprised Rotarian **Alan Prater** on Tuesday with the Rotarian of the Year Award for 2015-2016. This award was created in 2012 to recognize a non-Board club member who has been particularly helpful and supportive of the club president and the club. Prior honorees for this award were Jeb Breithaupt, David Cook and Mark Snow.

Alan has chaired our Scholarship Committees for many years, coordinating our club scholarships to a student at each of the five Caddo Parish universities, our James Allen Memorial Scholarship to a Centenary student and our recently created Sam Mason/Rotary Club of Shreveport scholarship. These scholarships total \$15,000 which we fund partially through our dues structure. Alan is very passionate about these scholarship awards—when he was asked to serve as club director in 2013-2014, he said that he was willing to serve in that new role so long as he could continue as chair of the scholarship committee! He has computerized the application process to make the selection process move smoothly for the committee members. If you would like to serve on this committee let Alan know.

A Rotarian since 1989, Alan also serves on the chaplaincy and dictionary committees. He is a Paul Harris Fellow.



(Above) Immediate past president Reg Abrams presents Alan Prater with two plaques for the Rotarian of the Year Award. One of the plaques is passed along each year to the new honoree and the other is for the honoree to keep permanently.

The Rotaripost



indran

resident



(Above) Outgoing Board members listen as outgoing president Reg Abrams recognizes their work this past year.



(Above) Incoming Board members take the oath of office administered by past president Merritt Chastain, Jr.



(Above) Francesca Moreland displays the Rotary brief-bags that were given as appreciation to the outgoing Board.



Rotaripost

Judy Bellew Executive Director P.O. Box 380 Shreveport, LA 71162

Phone: 318-221-3053 Fax: 318-221-6093 shreveportrotary@gmail.com www.rotaryclubofshreveport.org

Follow us on Facebook



Raffle Winners Last Week

TRF Raffle—Stephanie Sievers Thanks for donating to TRF—this applies to your PHF status

Rose-Neath Flower Shop—Reg Abrams

Andy Shehee's chicken eggs—David Ginsburg Andy Shehee's duck eggs—Larry Evensky

Fresh tomatoes from Jon Lowe—Robert McGowen and Bob Hamm

Program on July 19, 2016

Club Assembly

2016-2017 Board of Directors

July 2015—June 2016 100%

Attendance (or since joining if a new member) (with make-ups) Paul Harris Fellow * Major Donor + Past President +

Carol Barnes♦+

George Carroll (joined 03/01/16)

Harold Denny♦+PDG

Kathy French*

Larry Evensky*+ David Ginsburg*

Teri Haynes*

Bob Neff*

Milton Hutchinson* Gene Richardson*

Jeffrey Thomas (joined 04/19/16)

Member News

Congratulations to Reginald Abrams and Emily Mott for being selected as nominees for the Top Business Professional of the Year in the Minority Business Opportunity Awards.

Tom Arceneaux was recently recognized as the "best team leader with Superior CLE presentation" from the Harry V. Booth-Judge Henry Al Politz Inn of Court.

APPLICATION FOR MEMBERSHIP

Unless written objection is received within seven days, there will be added to the membership of

Rotary Club of Shreveport

the following:

Curtis R. Joseph, Jr.

Partner Winchell & Joseph, LLC Shreveport

Classification

Law Practice

Proposed by

David Ginsburg